Macedonia is a region of northern Greece and has an extent of 34.203 sq. km. Macedonia is administratively divided in 13 prefectures, that are the following: Grevena, Dramas, Imathia, Thessaloniki, Kavala, Kastoria, Kilkis, Kozani, Pella, Pieria, Serres, Florina and Chalkidiki.
Mount Athos is a self-administrated area and it is not a prefecture. It is the only “monasterial state” in entire Europe.

Macedonia, even if it has big and fertile valleys, is considered to be mountainous. Morphological it is separated in three natural regions: West Macedonia between Pindos mountains and Axios river, Central Macedonia between Axios river and Strimonas river, including Chalkidiki and East Macedonia between Strimonas river and Nestos river. In Macedonia also belongs the island of Thassos, as well as some small islets like: Saint Achillean in Prespa, and Amoyliani in the gulf of Mount Athos.